There are many factors to consider when choosing a diamond and without a level of knowledge about the aspects of diamond quality, the process can be intimidating. We believe that the more you know, the more confident you will feel about your purchase and our expert staff are happy to help you learn.

When selecting the perfect diamond, there are four different components of quality (the Four C’s) to consider: Carat Weight, Cut, Colour and Clarity. Each of the 4 C’s has an impact on the price of a diamond and its inherent beauty.



Northern Canada is an oasis of pristine wilderness where, for millions of years, a major repository of spectacular diamonds lay dormant. Canada’s magnificent gems were once buried under fields of ice 3,000 metres thick. As the glaciers melted, the indicator minerals that traditionally lead to the source were spread out over thousands of kilo meters across the barren tundra, making it a challenge to pinpoint the rich veins of diamonds. Eventually, success! In recent years, Canada has become the third largest supplier of gem quality diamonds to the world.



We at Fame Diamonds, fully acknowledge and embrace all governmental and regulatory requirements to act ethically when dealing with diamonds. We follow the Kimberley Process to ensure that our customers have peace of mind in knowing they are purchasing a conflict-free diamond.
The Kimberley Process (KP) is a joint governments, industry and civil society initiative to stem the flow of conflict diamonds - rough diamonds used by rebel movements to finance wars against legitimate governments.
The Kimberley Process Certification Scheme (KPCS) imposes extensive requirements on its members to enable them to certify shipments of rough diamonds as 'conflict-free'. As of 2 August 2013, the KP has 54 participants, representing 81 countries, with the European Union and its 28 Member States counting as a single participant, represented by the European Commission. KP members account for approximately 99.8% of the global production of rough diamonds.


Although it is extremely important to consider clarity, colour and cut when purchasing a diamond, carat weight is the "C" most likely to determine a diamond's value. Fortunately, it is the easiest characteristic to measure.
Most people think of a carat in terms of the size of the diamond, but it is actually based on weight. The weight of a diamond is traditionally measured in terms of carat, a unit of weight with 1 carat equaling .20 grams. Each carat is divided into 100 points, so a half carat is 50 points and is expressed as .50ct
Two diamonds of equal carat weight will have significantly different values because of the other factors: cut, colour and clarity. As a diamond increases in size and carat weight, the price will rise at an increasing rate because larger diamonds are more rare and therefore more valuable. 



Cut is often confused with shape. Shape refers to the overall outline of a diamond when viewed from the top. Examples include princess, emerald, marquise, oval, pear, heart and cushion. These are referred to as fancy shapes.
The overwhelming majority of diamonds, however, are round, and the most common cut is the round brilliant. A diamond's cut and grade refers to the placement and proportions of facets in a round brilliant diamond, measuring to the extent to which they maximize brilliance (light return), scintillation (sparkle), and fire (flashes of colour).
There is no single set of angles and proportions that constitute an ideal round-brilliant cut, but there are general parameters that dictate the quality of a diamonds cut. Width and depth affects how light travels through a diamond and when it exits diamond. The goal is to angle the facets in a way that causes them to reflect light out through the top, or the table, of a diamond. When a diamond is too shallow, light will exit through the bottom, or pavilion. When a diamond is too deep, light will exit to the sides of the pavilion.


A diamond with the highest colour grade is a diamond with the least amount of colour. The highest colour is D, which indicates that a diamond is colourless, and therefore extremely rare and valuable. An E grade indicates minute traces of colour that can only be detected by an expert. An F grade indicates slight traces of colour. A diamond in the G-H range is near colourless, with traces of yellow generally visible only when compared with whiter diamonds. I-J diamonds are also near colourless, with colour slightly detectable to the unaided eye. K-M diamonds begin to display noticeable colour.


The vast majority of diamonds contain some impurities, known as inclusions, which can detract from their beauty and impede light return. The size, number, type and location of these inclusions all factor into the final diamond clarity grade. The universal system for grading diamonds is the F (flawless) – I3 (inclusions III) system as noted below:

  • F AND IF

    F means internally and externally flawless. 1F means internally flawless, a scratch on the surface of the diamond may need to be removed. F and 1F diamonds are very rare and expensive.


    VVS means very, very slightly included. This means it is very difficult to see the impurities, even usinf a 10-power loupe. The numbers represent level within this grade- VVS1s are cleaner than VVS2s.

  • VS1 AND VS2

    These diamonds are very slightly included with impurities that are not visible to unaided eye. VVS and VS diamonds are known as "Eye-Clean" which means either a microscope or a 10-power loupe is necessary to see them.

  • SI1 AND SI2

    These diamonds are slightly included which means the inclusions are visible under 10-power magnification and might be visible to the unaided eye. Sometimes, a diamond is graded SI1 even though it has no more inclusions than an VS2, but because those inclusions occur in the centre of the diamond, they are more noticeable and more likely to block light. Some inclusions can be hidden by a mounting, thus having little effect on the beauty of a diamond.

  • I1, I2 AND I3

    These diamonds contain visible inclusions.


Although many diamonds look the same, no two are alike. Each diamond has its own characteristics of clarity, colour, carat and cut, and many have other attributes such as origin certificates and manufacturers' warranties. A Certificate is a record of these characteristics and it is essential in determining a diamond's value.

To provide confidence to our customers, we strive to guarantee our diamonds according to the World’s highest standards. We not only provide certificates from the World’s most trusted companies like, GIA, AGS, Canadian Rocks, etc, but we also commit ourselves to follow these high standards when providing our customers with Independent Appraisals.